week #10 (… and also weeks 8 & 9): top five songs

Hello to everyone who reads this! I slacked these past weeks getting the music I’ve been jamming out to on to the webs for you! I’ve been so busy in my day to day; reading pretty much non-stop, meeting fantastic folks who are teaching me about life, and just improving myself little by little. I often forget that I need to just take a moment to breathe and ponder on the things that really matter to me. One of these things is my music. I’m posting a little early but I was so excited to share. 

I simply love music because, despite all of the differences people have in the world, one thing we have in common is listening to music. It is everywhere and you interact with it whether you like it or not. It is scientifically proven that music can elicit emotional responses in people. To me, that is an undeniably wonderful reaction to something intangible that goes into our ears! Brains are a funny thing. We all lead different lives and we all love different genres of music, yet, sometimes we feel the same things when listening to the vast array of musical products available today.

“You can’t touch music, but music can touch you” — Mordecai, from the Regular Show

So, usually (and by usually, I mean two times previously) I post the five songs that I am going to be listening to pretty consistently! Gotta get those emotions a stirrin’. This week, I want to share the five songs for this upcoming week and then a bonus ten songs since I didn’t post for the past two weeks. I know… I know… you can thank me later.

Week #8: 2/19 – 2/25

This was the week I posted about my faith, so here are some incredible jams!

  1. Follow You – Ben Rector
  2. Hello, My Name Is – Matthew West
  3. Take Heart – Hillsong United
  4. Defender – Kings Kaleidoscope
  5. Sinking Deep (Live) – Hillsong Young & Free (the build up in this song… evokes emotion every time)

Week #9: 2/26 – 3/4

This week I will dedicate for my love for love songs. Go ahead and sing those words I fail to find sometimes.

  1. The Pocket – Andy Grammer
  2. Perfect – Ed Sheeran
  3. Sunday Morning – Maroon 5
  4. Something Just Like This – The Chainsmokers and Coldplay
  5. Boomerang – The Summer Set

Week #10: 3/5 – 3/11

This week? I’m going with my singalong jams! We all get stressed and need some songs that get us in a singing mood. Here are five songs that get me singing when I cruise The Valley.

  1. The Remedy (I Won’t Worry) – Jason Mraz
  2. She’s American – The 1975
  3. Barlights – fun.
  4. Gibberish (ft. Hoodie Allen) – MAX
  5. Everything is Alright – Motion City Soundtrack

Click here to listen on Spotify.

Fun Fact: when I find a song I like a lot, I listen to it on repeat, constantly. Usually over 100 times (at a minimum).

Best,

ZCH

 

Leave a Reply

